Home Shop
Erasmus Trio Amsterdam
index agenda biography cds download links guestbook

Erasmus Trio Amsterdam ERASMUS TRIO
piano Thomas Herrmann
violon Vera Laporeva
cello Xiaojia Xu

The Erasmus Trio from the Netherlands consists of the pianist Thomas Herrmann, the violinist Vera Laporeva and the cellist Xiaojia Xu. The Trio has a warm, rounded sound, an energetic style of playing and a broad repertoire. The members of the ensemble are very interested in contemporary music. Their repertoire contains, in addition to the standard works of the classicromantic period, trios which were specially written for them.

Concerts have taken the ensemble to Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, South Africa and China; they have played in the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, in the Mozart-Saal of the Alte Oper in Frankfurt am Main and also at numerous festivals, e.g. at the Gergiev Festival in Rotterdam, at the Kunst10Daagse Festival in Bergen and at the Russian Chamber Music Festival in Gent. The trio has played several times as soloists in BeethovenÕs Triple Concerto. In September 2007 the Trio has given two concerts in Beijing, one of them with renowned Chinese musicians. This was the first performance of a Dutch piano trio in China.

The Erasmus Trio has made different radio and television recordings for the Dutch and German media. The Chinese National TV (CCTV) and Beijing Media Group have also broadcasted special programs about the Erasmus Trio.

In 2001 the Erasmus Trio brought out its first CD with works of Schubert and Schnittke. This was followed in August 2007 by a CD with works by Glinka (recorded for the first time) and three works specially composed for the Erasmus Trio: a Chinese composition and an arrangement of two pieces by Tchaikovsky.

Vera Laporeva plays a violin from 1751, made by the Italian violin maker C.A.Testore. Xiaojia Xu plays a 1720 Amsterdam cello attributed to P. Rombouts. Her bow is a Parisian A. Lamy from 1900.
NOTE: This text is also available in PDF on our download-page.

© 1999 - 2021 Erasmus Trio, Bloomline Coryphée b.v. (NL). All rights reserved.